Sunday, December 12, 2010

- Renal trauma grading scale.

Basically we can divide renal trauma into five grades.
The grades I , II and III are classified as minor traumas, and the grades IV,V as major :-
  • Grade I: contusion or subcapsular hematoma, without parenchymal laceration.
  • Grade II: superficial cortical laceration less than 1 cm deep.
  • Grade III: deep cortical laceration extending more than 1 cm.
  • Grade IV:
    1. corticomedullary laceration with collecting system injury and urinary extravasation. 
    2.  vascular injury:- laceration or thrombosis of a segmental artery.
  • Grade V:
    1. Multiple deep lacerations.
    2. Thrombosis of the main renal artery.
    3. Avulsion of renal hilum which devascularizes kidney.

Return to list of medical grades (click here) 
Dr Ibrahim


    1. Very nice, thanks - Med student (South Africa)

    2. د.ضيف الله المنصوب - اليمنDecember 22, 2011 at 9:01 PM

      thank you, it is a very nice ordered information

    3. Thanks for sharing very informative.


    Nice to see your comment here........