Friday, October 29, 2010

- Classification of Graves' eye disease.

Classification of Graves' eye disease. 

  • Class 0: No signs or symptoms.
  • Class 1: Only signs (limited to upper lid retraction and stare, with or without lid lag).
  • Class 2: Soft tissue involvement (oedema of conjunctivae and lids, conjunctival injection, etc.).
  • Class 3: Proptosis.
  • Class 4: Extraocular muscle involvement.
  • Class 5: Corneal involvement.
  • Class 6: Sight loss (due to optic nerve involvement).

Dr Ibrahim
- Source:-
  • Werner SC. Modification of the classification of the eye changes of Graves' disease: recommendations of the Ad Hoc Committee of the American Thyroid Association. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 1977;44: 203-4.


  1. Thanks for sharing this post about eye disease,.
    I want to know about keratoconus disease..
    ""cheratocono frusto""


Nice to see your comment here........