Sunday, January 10, 2010

- Grades of respiratory distress.

Grades of respiratory distress
  1. Grade I (mild distress):- tachypnea ,working ala nasi and tachycardia .
  2. Grade II (moderate distress):- Chest retraction "in-drawing" (e.g subcostal and intercostal) due to moderate hypoxemia.
  3. Grade III (severe distress):- Grunting which is due to severe hypoxemia and indicate alveolar lesion (i.e parenchymatous lung disease).Here O2 supply is needed and patient must be hospitalized.Grunting is the last compensatory mechanism.
  4. Grade IV:- Cyanosis and disturbed consciousness and endotracheal tube is needed here.

Dr Ibrahim

Return to list of medical grades (click here) 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Nice to see your comment here........